Year 10 Minimum Standard Tests

All Year 10 students are required to complete the Minimum Standards tests this year.

Students will complete three online tests which will assess skills in Numeracy, Reading and Writing. The standard is set at level 3 of the Australian Core Skills Framework (ACSF), which means students will have the basic reading, writing and maths skills needed for everyday tasks and future learning after school. It includes skills for tasks such as following safety instructions in equipment manuals, understanding a mobile phone plan, writing a job application and creating a personal weekly budget.

Both the Numeracy and Reading tests comprise 45 questions, and the Writing test requires students to complete a 500 word response to a writing prompt.

The tests will be held on the following dates:

  • Numeracy Test – Monday 13 May during Period 1
  • Reading Test – Monday 13 May during Period 3
  • Writing Test – Friday 17 May during Period 1

Students will require a device that allows them to type (a laptop would be preferable to an iPad). Further information regarding these tests can be found here.

If parents have any questions or concerns regarding the tests, please email the School’s K-12 Literacy and Numeracy Coordinator, Mrs Stephanie Cairns.

Related posts

Remarkable success in annual ICAS assessments


Lego Masters - Winners and Wrap-up!


National Simultaneous Storytime


HICES Debating - Rounds 3 and 4