Marvellous Mathematics Results in Primary and Secondary School

It has been a fantastic week for the Mathematics faculty across our School. We have seen some remarkable results from students who have participated in both regional and national competitions.

Our Primary Mathematicians received outstanding results in the Year 5 and 6 Divisions of the Newcastle Permanent Mathematics Competition. In a true testament to their maths prowess, we even had some Year 4 students competing in the Year 5 division and receive high distinctions and distinctions!

Sophia Price, William Shaw, Eamon Phipps and Jack Chambers were recipients of esteemed High Distinctions. The cohort also received 22 Distinctions and 27 Merit Awards.

Congratulations to the following students:

Year 5 Category

High DistinctionDistinctionMerit
Sophia PriceRyan Partridge (Year 4)Lucy Bylsma
William ShawLevi BeardSam Gumbleton (Year 4)
Eamon PhippsColton CraigLachlan Hodge
Jack Chambers (Year 4)Finneas VicarsLachlan Sherwood
Max de CarleMitchell Wall
Noah NelsonGabriel Clarke-Veres
Oliver MorganHarvey Cuckson
Angus Clarke (Year 4)Henry Pollitt (Year 4)
Rikin GowdaEliza Rose
Alessandra PriceMia Ryall
Harrison GillJosiah Blackmore (Year 4)
Hunter HavelandDevesha Pahuja
Elijah LivingstonKieran Gumbleton
Charlie Finnecy (Year 4)Wendy Ngan
Julian Sagolj
Isaac Dalzell

Year 6 Category

Jacob HertnerEmilie Marshall
Adam AwadImogen Farley
Jaiden PowerGrace Curran
Roxana BowanArcher Stephens
Ashley LivingstonAmelia Stanfield-Gates
Solamon MaxwellZalia Rose
Jonathan DegnerElliot Mainwaring
Fleur HillsdonBen Richardson
Sophia Skitek
David Madzivire
Ty McKibbin

In Secondary School, students from Years 7 and 8 took part in an Enrichment Program, which consisted of a six week problem-solving competition developed by the Australian Mathematics Trust.

Each student was presented with six demanding problems. To complete this program students required grit, perseverance, tenacity and resilience – all great qualities that will help them in the future.

Congratulations to the following students:

Year 7 and 8 Australian Mathematics Trust Challenge Results

Sarah KingGabrielle Tittel
Orion Thompson
Georgia Stanfield-Gates
Thomas Oram
Jack Lund
Jed Kirkman
Aarohi Deshmukh
Michael Vandoros
Braydon Davis
Remy Bucton
Related posts

Remarkable success in annual ICAS assessments


Lego Masters - Winners and Wrap-up!


National Simultaneous Storytime


HICES Debating - Rounds 3 and 4